About Us

  • National President

    Cr Coral Ross

    National President

    In 2014 Coral received one of the '100 Women of Influence Awards' announced by the Australian Financial Review and Westpac, recognising her service to local government. She retired as the Victorian Branch President in 2016, after serving two consecutive terms; this was as required by the Victorian branch constitution,. She remains on the Victorian committee as Metro Representative. She is also the Interim President of the Municipal Association of Victoria (MAV). Coral was first elected to Boroondara Council in 2002, and has served as mayor 3 times.

  • National Vice President

    Cr Betty Gill

    National Vice President

    Betty is President of the South Australian Branch and was first elected to Salisbury Council in 1989, serving continuously ever since. In 2015 she was awarded the inaugural Joy Baluch Award which recognises the contribution of women Councillors in South Australia.

  • National Secretary

    Cr Helen Harris OAM

    National Secretary

    Helen served as a Councillor with the City of Whitehorse from 2005, retiring in 2016; she also served as mayor 2008/9. She recently stepped down as secretary of the Victorian Branch after serving in that capacity for 6 years and was awarded a Life membership for her service. She is now the Victorian treasurer and accepted the new position of Executive Officer there.

  • National Treasurer

    Cr Alwyn Friedersdorff

    National Treasurer

    Alwyn has been a Councillor with Waratah-Wynyard Council since 2002, and is the Tasmanian delegate to the Board. She is also the current President of the National Rural Women's Coalition.

  • Western Australia Rep.

    Cr Janet Davidson OAM JP

    Western Australia Rep.

    Janet has been a Councillor with the City of Perth since 1998, and is the Western Australian branch President.

  • New South Wales Rep.

    Cr Vicki Scott

    New South Wales Rep.

    Vicki served three terms as a Councillor with Gosford Council until forced Council amalgamations in 2016. She is the President of the NSW Branch.

  • Queensland Rep.

    Rebecca Hersant

    Queensland Rep.

    Rebecca is the first President of the Queensland branch who is not an elected member within Local Government.

    Rebecca has a MBA in Strategic Human Resource Management and Communications, and is the Client Relations Manager at Local Buy Pty. Ltd., which was established by the Local Government Association of Qld as a procurement service for Councils and government entities.

  • Northern Territory Rep.

    Katrina Fong Lim

    Northern Territory Rep.

    Katrina is the popularly elected Lord Mayor of Darwin, the Northern Territory’s Capital City and the only Capital City in the tropics. Previous to that she worked in the community sector. She is also the N.T. Branch President..